The Sefirot of Kabbalah – Names of God Series Part 2

The Sefirot of Kabbalah – Names of God Series Part 2

Starting in the twelfth century, Jewish mysticism was called “Kabbalah,” or “tradition.” One of the most important kabbalistic innovations was to give the Torah an esoteric interpretation.

In order to explain the inner workings of the universe there emerged a new religious language complete with new symbols. These were necessary in order to convey the new understanding of God and the operation of the universe.

Ein Sof of the Kabbalah – The Tree of Life

Kabbalah Tree of Life, Ein SofThe most important of these symbols is Ein Sof, God, the unmanifest and unknowable.

The second of these is sefirot, a plural noun. The sefirot are the ten aspects of God's being that manifest from Ein Sof.

The Hebrew names of God associated in Kabbalah with the ten sefirot, divine emanations of God are:

Adonai, “Lord” (Malkhut)

Shaddai, “Almighty”

El Hai, “Living God” (Yesod)

Elohim Tzevaot, “God of hosts” (Hod)

YHVH Tzevaot, spoken Adonai Tzevaot, “Lord of hosts” (Netzah)

YHVH, spoken Adonai (Tiferet)

Elohim, “God” (Gevurah)

El, “God” (Hesed)

YHVH, spoken Elohim (Binah)

Yah, “the Eternal” (Hokhmah)

Ehyeh Asher Ehyeh, “I AM THAT I AM” (Keter)

Read #1 in the Names of God series: Mantra Yoga.

The above article is excerpted from Kabbalah: Key to Your Inner Power by Elizabeth Clare Prophet.

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.

Keepers of the Flame - kabbalah

Are You an Initiate
of the
Secret Mysteries?

Copyright © 2024 The Summit Lighthouse, Inc. All rights reserved.

Legal and Privacy Policy

The Summit Lighthouse