The Path of Wisdom and Compassion

By Maureen Macchio

We all have within us the seed of Buddhahood. As the transcendental force of bodhicitta (the will for a universal salvation) is cultivated within us, and we vow to attain Buddhahood for the benefit of all life, we can be called bodhisattvas.

We have ideal role models—Manjushri, the great Bodhisattva of Wisdom and Kuan Yin, the Bodhisattva of Compassion also known by various masculine names as Avalokiteshvara and Chenrizig in Tibet.

The Buddha-nature is universal. We can ignite the internal being of God and become more than we are currently expressing. The ultimate goal of this path is union with God, with Reality, with the Absolute.

We know that the living God is imprisoned inside of us and we are inspired to see the soul go free and the God flame be unlocked so we can explode into the God-free being that we really are.

Nargarjuna, an ancient Buddhist philosopher explained: “One who understands the nature of bodhicitta sees everything with a loving heart, for love is the essence of the bodhicitta. There is only one bodhicitta, an active universal force that arises and expresses itself to varying degrees and in various ways in individuals.”

He also said “The Bodhicitta, abiding in the heart of sameness…creates individual means of salvation…one who understands this heart becomes emancipated from the dualistic view of birth and death and performs such acts as are beneficial both to oneself and others.”

The words found in the beginning chapters of Elizabeth Clare Prophet’s book, The Buddhic Essence – The 10 Stages to Becoming the Buddha include such topics as the Bodhisattva Vows, Finding Balance through the Middle Way, and Concentrating on Who We Are.

The ten stages to become the Buddha are explained in the following chapters:

  1. The Joyful Stage
  2. The Immaculate Stage
  3. The Illumination Stage
  4. The Radiant Stage
  5. The Very-Difficult to Conquer Stage
  6. The Face to Face Stage
  7. The Far-Reaching Stage
  8. The Immovable Stage
  9. The Good Thoughts Stage
  10. The Cloud of the Dharma Stage
  11. As we study and internalize the Trikaya – the three bodies of the Buddha as depicted in the Chart of the I AM Presence – and become aware of the power of mantra and mudra to assist us we can give the mantras:


    Padma Sambhava

    Padmasambhava instructed Yeshe Tsogyal , one of his chief disciples, that this mantra could be used to avert the evils of a coming period of great darkness.

    OM MANI PADME HUM is translated “Hail to the jewel in the heart of the Lotus!” This mantra of Kuan Yin (Avalokiteshvara) is said to refer to the Absolute contained within everything. In addition, as with all Buddhist mantras, when we chant any of the Kuan Yin mantras or vows we are also calling forth the transmutative action of the violet flame.

    GATE GATE PARAGATE PARASAMGATE BODHI SVAHA is the conclusion of The Heart Sutra. It is translated “Gone, gone, gone beyond, gone wholly beyond—Enlightenment, hail!” or “Proceed, proceed, proceed beyond, proceed completely beyond, be found in enlightenment.”

    The mantra serves to propel us beyond the illusory self and all illusion, beyond duality, into Reality and the Real Self. It is said to contain the entirety of Perfect Wisdom.


    Elizabeth Clare Prophet ends her most beautiful book with the words, “You all know in your inner being, even if your outer being does not know, the rejoicing in continuous striving as you desire to be perfected for only one purpose—that you might heal and deliver and serve all sentient life.

    Trust in the unfailing law of love.

2 Responses to The Path of Wisdom and Compassion

Leave a reply